Customer Reviews for Remington R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Remington Products.

R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology

Get a classic, close shave with the Remington R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot and Flex Technology. Three independent flexing heads contour to angles on the chin and jaw line while the pivoting neck reaches tough to shave areas, like the neck. Dual track, titanium coated blades offer strong, long lasting, and durable cutting power. Its 5 minute quick charge ensures a clean, close shave while a digital LCD battery display shows your exact battery time.
Overall rating:
3.741 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Review 1 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very reliable.

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been using this product for well over a year and I have to say it is one of the best electric razors I have ever used. It does not tug on my hairs, leave an itchy feeling, or razor burn. Although you may have to run over a few spots a couple times to make sure a hair doesn't slip past, it leaves a remarkably smooth shave.
As for the durability of the product, I've dropped it, tossed it, juggled it, and anything you can think of to potentially damage it. But I've always managed to pick it up use it. As for cleaning, all you have to do is open it up and tap the head a couple times and finish by rinsing with water. Easy. Only 5 minutes of my life every day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55-64
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I experienced this shavr when my sister bought it for my father who had had a sroke. It went through his 7 day growth esily! I since bought one for mysel online and am very impressed at the close shave it gives in less time than my old norelco. Plus the digital timer of remaioning battery charge is great- I have been using it 2-3 times weekly for the last 3 weeks with still over 25 inutes of charge left! Buy it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from San Antonio Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Once per week
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have always purchased remington over norelco because of a cleaner and closer shave. Was i wrong this time. This has to be the worst shave I have ever had. It pulls and even when you go over and over a spot it doesn't cut any better. As i stated above I was very disappointed with the $55 I spent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Remington ProductsBy Customer ServiceSeptember 22, 2014
Hi , thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Remington product. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at Contactus@remingtonproducts.com or call 1-800-736-4648, so that we may better assist you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

R5 Rotary Razor

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
from Fredericksburg, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchased 3 weeks ago. Takes about 20 minutes of shaving going over and over the same area to get anything close to a clean shave. Stubble appears in a few hours. Not impressed with this razor at all. I will be returning it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Remington ProductsBy Customer ServiceMay 13, 2014
Thank you for contacting Remington. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.
We rely heavily on feedback and input of all our customers, you are very important to us. Please contact us at 800-736-4648, M-F, 8 – 4 central time so we can help resolve the problem you are experiencing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I prefer the rotary blades.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from Kenner,La.USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Coarse
Facial Hair Style:Goatee
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried other shavers, and rotary blades seem to give me the closest shave. I ordered the shaver online and it was quite a bargain,including an extra set of blades.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is a good electric razor, but the packages need more.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
from Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:Received Free Sample
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great razor and using the Shaving powder, it gives a great, pain-free shave. BUT -- Remington should have at least included a cleaning brush and a head cover. The Razor gets really dirty with the powder, but is very hard to clean without either brush or using water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jaabe19554
San Gabriel, CA
 
Please wait while more information about jaabe19554 is loaded.
Additional information about jaabe19554 could not be loaded.
Alternate Cleaning Method
Posted July 6, 2014
I too love this razor.
I use a can of air to clean the residue left from using the shaving powder and the beard hair remaining after shaving. I find this works exceptionally well.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good traveling razor for constant use

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Forestville California
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found the R5 rotary razor to be a good, low cost alternative for those of us that spend a lot of time on the go.
It's light weight and longevity between charges makes it an ideal razor for thoes of us that are traveling constantly and where abuse from dropped luggage, falls from small countertops and other forms of abuse take place.
The R5 does not produce as close of a shave as some of the higher priced models but it does do an adequate job and seems to be a reliable razor under most conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AT LAST A GOOD ELECTRIC SHAVER

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
from saginaw, michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this shaver for a couple of weeks now.
It shaves as close as a blade. I dont suffer from irritation, razor burn,
or any painfull pulling not cutting of my 62 year old wire like wiskers.
I now have a SMILY FACE :) when i shave.
Thank You Remington.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great choice

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works very well and it's very quiet, give's a neat cut.
i'm undoubtedly happy to have it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality in a shaver

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from Hollister, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second shaver of this type - purchased because I liked the first. I like the non-slip feature, and comfortable grip. The shave is quick , clean and not irritating to the skin. For the price I know of no better shaver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shaver and trimmer for reasonable price

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ever wondered whether the online product you want will be as good as it appears? Well ... look no farther. Remington shaver R5 and the personal trimmer perform above expectations. Quick delivery without charging an arm and leg. I suggest you buy now, before they realize what a bargain they are selling and raise the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Shave

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Colorado, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:A few times a month
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took my new razor and my beard several days to equilibrate, i.e., to get used to each other; now, I am very comfortable with it. I like to alternate between safety razor and electric razor shaving to minimize facial irritation caused by constant use of either method. No matter what electric razor I have used, including this one, the safety razor always has the capability of providing a closer shave, by the nature of it's design (blade against the face).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than anything Philips makes

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
from Johnson City, TN, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Goatee
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has always amazed me that no mater how advanced Philips tries to make their shavers, Remington still works much better. The quality of the R-6150 is on par with shavers that cost 4 times more. The shave is very close and comfortable. No nicks or cuts either. I have decided, after years of trying different brands of shavers, to just stick with Remington from now on. I just can't beat the quality and reliability. And my last Braun was the 799cc-4 and this Remington still does a better job, and I paid nearly $300.00 for the Braun. I guess its a good thing I returned the Braun.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery life!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from Ludington, MI, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Coarse
Facial Hair Style:Mustache
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Remington R5 shaver. It works great and is far less expensive than other brands. I get nearly 3 weeks of shaves per charge (with a rather coarse beard). My only complaint with these razors is the on/off switch has failed over time with my last 2 razors. I would like to see this problem fixed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

R5 Shaver review

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Conn.
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Coarse
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this as a gift for our 19yr old son.Previously had a norelco which he didnt care for.He has used it a month now and is very happy with it.The speed of the cutting blades is an important factor to considor to eliminate the pulling you get from slower units. Lets see if it lasts longer than a year which is when the norelco died.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Electric razor

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Kansas
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a good product, but doesn't shave as closely as I hoped. The price is great and was delived quickly. I wish it came with a stand and a travel case but otherwise satisfied with the purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product R5 Rotary Shaver/I love the features

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from Co Bluffs, IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Thick
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the window that tells you how much time you have left for shaving, no guess work. The rotary is one unit when it comes to replace. Easy to handle even though my spouse has a tremor on his hands, razor does a good job, has given me peace of mind I am a caregiver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good razor

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
from el paso,tx.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:1 week
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i have used a ms3 2700 triple foil for many years.. i love this razor,but my wife purchased this new rotory for christmas. this is a wonderful razor,but it gives me a large rash on my neck.. i have gone back to use my old ms 3 2700. i get a better closer shave. i will ad that i have used a remington for about 30 years since your first ad on tv where the guy said that he like it so much he bought the company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from North Wilkesboro,NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Stubble
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a present for my husband. He loves it. This was a great buy and the product seems to be amazing. Would recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair inexpensive shaver

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Ambler, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The shaver does an adequate job for the price I paid. However, it still gives off a little too much shaver burn.
The quality in the manufacturing is just not there.
Compared to a Norelco, if you have the extra money buy the Norelco!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>