Customer Reviews for Remington R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology

R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology

Get a classic, close shave with the Remington R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot and Flex Technology. Three independent flexing heads contour to angles on the chin and jaw line while the pivoting neck reaches tough to shave areas, like the neck. Dual track, titanium coated blades offer strong, long lasting, and durable cutting power. Its 5 minute quick charge ensures a clean, close shave while a digital LCD battery display shows your exact battery time.
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Review 1 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is a good electric razor, but the packages need more.

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Regularshaver01
from Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:Received Free Sample
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great razor and using the Shaving powder, it gives a great, pain-free shave. BUT -- Remington should have at least included a cleaning brush and a head cover. The Razor gets really dirty with the powder, but is very hard to clean without either brush or using water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good traveling razor for constant use

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Travlinman
from Forestville California
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found the R5 rotary razor to be a good, low cost alternative for those of us that spend a lot of time on the go.
It's light weight and longevity between charges makes it an ideal razor for thoes of us that are traveling constantly and where abuse from dropped luggage, falls from small countertops and other forms of abuse take place.
The R5 does not produce as close of a shave as some of the higher priced models but it does do an adequate job and seems to be a reliable razor under most conditions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AT LAST A GOOD ELECTRIC SHAVER

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
bobo44
from saginaw, michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this shaver for a couple of weeks now.
It shaves as close as a blade. I dont suffer from irritation, razor burn,
or any painfull pulling not cutting of my 62 year old wire like wiskers.
I now have a SMILY FACE :) when i shave.
Thank You Remington.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great choice

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
tava
Age:25-34
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works very well and it's very quiet, give's a neat cut.
i'm undoubtedly happy to have it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality in a shaver

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Redfreak88
from Hollister, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Received Free Sample:No
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second shaver of this type - purchased because I liked the first. I like the non-slip feature, and comfortable grip. The shave is quick , clean and not irritating to the skin. For the price I know of no better shaver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shaver and trimmer for reasonable price

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
CarGuy
from NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Are you a blogger?No
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ever wondered whether the online product you want will be as good as it appears? Well ... look no farther. Remington shaver R5 and the personal trimmer perform above expectations. Quick delivery without charging an arm and leg. I suggest you buy now, before they realize what a bargain they are selling and raise the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Shave

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
RayBarry37
from Colorado, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:A few times a month
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took my new razor and my beard several days to equilibrate, i.e., to get used to each other; now, I am very comfortable with it. I like to alternate between safety razor and electric razor shaving to minimize facial irritation caused by constant use of either method. No matter what electric razor I have used, including this one, the safety razor always has the capability of providing a closer shave, by the nature of it's design (blade against the face).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than anything Philips makes

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
kgc10501
from Johnson City, TN, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Goatee
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has always amazed me that no mater how advanced Philips tries to make their shavers, Remington still works much better. The quality of the R-6150 is on par with shavers that cost 4 times more. The shave is very close and comfortable. No nicks or cuts either. I have decided, after years of trying different brands of shavers, to just stick with Remington from now on. I just can't beat the quality and reliability. And my last Braun was the 799cc-4 and this Remington still does a better job, and I paid nearly $300.00 for the Braun. I guess its a good thing I returned the Braun.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery life!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
PBmax
from Ludington, MI, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Coarse
Facial Hair Style:Mustache
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Remington R5 shaver. It works great and is far less expensive than other brands. I get nearly 3 weeks of shaves per charge (with a rather coarse beard). My only complaint with these razors is the on/off switch has failed over time with my last 2 razors. I would like to see this problem fixed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

R5 Shaver review

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Josh19
from Conn.
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Coarse
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this as a gift for our 19yr old son.Previously had a norelco which he didnt care for.He has used it a month now and is very happy with it.The speed of the cutting blades is an important factor to considor to eliminate the pulling you get from slower units. Lets see if it lasts longer than a year which is when the norelco died.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Electric razor

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
billbill1
from Kansas
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a good product, but doesn't shave as closely as I hoped. The price is great and was delived quickly. I wish it came with a stand and a travel case but otherwise satisfied with the purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product R5 Rotary Shaver/I love the features

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Pawee
from Co Bluffs, IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Thick
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the window that tells you how much time you have left for shaving, no guess work. The rotary is one unit when it comes to replace. Easy to handle even though my spouse has a tremor on his hands, razor does a good job, has given me peace of mind I am a caregiver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good razor

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
shultzie11
from el paso,tx.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:1 week
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i have used a ms3 2700 triple foil for many years.. i love this razor,but my wife purchased this new rotory for christmas. this is a wonderful razor,but it gives me a large rash on my neck.. i have gone back to use my old ms 3 2700. i get a better closer shave. i will ad that i have used a remington for about 30 years since your first ad on tv where the guy said that he like it so much he bought the company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Connie517
from North Wilkesboro,NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Stubble
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a present for my husband. He loves it. This was a great buy and the product seems to be amazing. Would recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair inexpensive shaver

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
silveradojo
from Ambler, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The shaver does an adequate job for the price I paid. However, it still gives off a little too much shaver burn.
The quality in the manufacturing is just not there.
Compared to a Norelco, if you have the extra money buy the Norelco!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The product is easy to clean

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
paulie55
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:1 week
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's been difficult to find a razor at a reasonable price that works good and this one does. Removes all the whiskers without having to apply a lot of pressure to the face or neck.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value for Your Dollar

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
punned
from Northeast of Grand Rapids, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Ergonomically, the shaver feels good to hold in your hand. It's flexible heads allow for a smooth, close shave. I like the fact that you can use tap water to rinse out the shaving head. The digital battery readout and quick charge feature add a nice touch.
The online package may have been a Christmas special, but I found the shaver, bundled with a replacement set of cutter heads, for about what you'd pay alone for the shaver. This added value sold me on purchasing this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wasn't exactly what I thought I was getting

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Toby1964
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The price was right, the product was not what I thought I was getting. It is somewhat flimsy but works.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GrayGhost
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about GrayGhost is loaded.
Additional information about GrayGhost could not be loaded.
Best shave ever with electric razor
Posted April 7, 2013
Was not expecting too much for the price point to replace broken razor on the road. Was i ever wrong. Not only a wonderful shaving experience but the battery read out is special, the ease of cleaning without expensive liquids is grand piece of engineering and design..Thank you Remington
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ok is you want a trim

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer avatar
longboardblues
from north caroloina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Average
Facial Hair Style:Clean Shaven
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
when i use my $20 braun mobileshave after using this product. it sounds like i havent shave in 2 days. this shaver is not worth the money. i am very dissapointed! especially for a military man.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for R5 Rotary Shaver with Pivot & Flex Technology
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rotary head problem

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Homesteader
from Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:1 week
I use this product:Daily
Hair Type:Fine
Facial Hair Style:Goatee
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The head assembly is hinged with 2 small plastic points which did not stand up to a small tumble it had from the sink to the floor in the bathroom. Found the razor to cut well but durability a fail
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>