Customer Reviews for Remington SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790

SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790

Maintain your clean, consistent look with this men’s titanium screen and cutter replacement. Pivot and Flex Foil Technology allows the neck to pivot freely while the three independent flexing foils adjust to the contours of your face, chin and jaw for an ultra close, ultra clean shave. Replacement Screens and Cutters for Remington Foil Shavers F5790, F5790XLP, F5790CS, F7790, F7790XLP and F7790CS. Ref: AD1000 NOTE: The SP-390 is not for F4900, F5800, F7800; for these models see SPF300
Overall rating:
3.962 / 5
4
 / 
5
(370 reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 370 reviews
5 stars
166
4 stars
105
3 stars
44
2 stars
29
1 star
26
288 out of 360(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Review 1 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Foil does not fit my razor

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Steveatkasa
from Gorham, Maine
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My order arrived promptly and perfored well with one exception, the new foil frame holder does not snap on securely to my razor and pops off during shaving and has now resulted in the cutter blades wearing a hole through the foil in less than 3 months.....very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

screen

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
rocket138
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age:55-64
I have used this product for:6 months - 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I put the new blades in they are OK but the new screen cover wont stay in place when the razor is turned on, every time I turn the razor on the screen popped of I finally had to take all the screens out and put them on the original cover in order for the razor to work properly, I am very unsatisfied with my order.I should have just bought another razor.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The screens will fail quickly if too much pressure is applied to the face.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from West Allis, Wis.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:6 months - 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Are you a blogger?No
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoy the shave with the three floating heads. There is no pulling during the event but I do have rough spots left over that I need to hit with a blade due to the fact that I can't push down as hard on my face as I would like to. Also, the screens should be sold separate from the blades to bring down the cost for the parts that are actually needed and the replacement parts need to be available at all the locations the shavers are sold.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product provides a close and comfortable shave.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Sal67
from Lawrence, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a beard for over 40 years. The one thing that kept me from shaving it off was that I could never find an electric shaver that would provide a close shave without irritating my face. The f5790 provides that close shave and is the primary reason that allowed me to shave off my beard.
That plus the fact that my wife had never seen my face!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dull Replacement Blades

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
esr10645
from St. Augustine, FL, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-7 weeks
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the third try to get decent replacement blades, and have failed three times. In the past I have continued to purchase NEW Reminington shavers and they perform as you would expect; however it is a waste of natuaral resources to throw away a 6 month old shaver just to get new blades. The replacement blades I just purchased are not sharp, they pull my beard, particularly in the moustache area. The only resloution I see is for you to send me a set of SHARP replacement blades. If that doesn't happen, then I'll switch to buying a German brand shaver.
It's not a good idea to lose a customer that has been buying Remington shavers for over forty years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the same as before!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Woodbend
from Northville, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my third replacement, and there appears to have been an engineering change this time where the screen head is smaller and does not fit as tightly as before. Disappointing!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Shaver use

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Piper
from Folsom CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Been using a Remington elect shaver from age 12. Now 70. Tried other brands and yours had what I needed. Heads last about 6 months. Present shaver is a few years old and still going. Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

seems to be better than those of the past

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
muscles
from Okmulgee, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works good except the cutters seem to come off easily when cleaning.
gives a cleaner shave than the past shavers. i have used Remington shavers for over 40 years. The only problem i have is that the store here where i but my shavers does not stock the cutters or screens any more.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Priced too high for an average quality product

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Choyke
from Niskayuna, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:6 months - 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The quality of the product is average. Efective product life is only 6 months. However the cost is way too high and must come down in order to retain a competative edge.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not user friendly.

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
KCman
from Baltimore, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:6 months - 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This shaver is difficult to clean with a brush. The plastic cover for the foils keeps falling off and the cutting heads fall off during cleaning. I do not get a close shave because I have a somewhat heavy beard. The best feature of this shaver is that you can rinse it under water.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ease to obtain

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Bart
from Tyler, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the screens and cutters by internet for about thre same price at the local dealer. It was much easer to purchase direct from Remington than going to the local dealer. Local dealers do not always have the screen and cutters for my RemingtonF5790 shaver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is convenient to use and is much quieter than previous models.

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Flyer
from Mukwonago WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tripple screen razor is convenient to use and is much quieter than previous models however I feel the previous dual screen razor gave a much closer shave.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Performance.

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
An264352
Age:Over 65
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I decide to try an electric razor, therfore my wife bought me one for Chritmas,. 2011. I started ujsing it in January 2012 and have been very happy with the results. Although it doesn't give me as close a shave as a blade, it still does a good job. I will most likely never go back to a blade.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

slips off

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
poppy
Age:Over 65
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the replacement head slipps off during shaving of the F5790 which it is supposed to fit. Very frustrating. may just have to get a different razor if the replacement part doesn't fit. :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cutters & screen

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Scooter79
from Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The cutters seem to last forever; the screens, not so much. About 6 months is all I can get out of the screens before replacing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Replacement differs from original

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
ShavedDave
from Atkinson NH
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The original screen had floating segments, called "flexing foils." The replacement's screen's three rows are fixed, which I prefer. The design of the rest of the shaving head is also different from the original. It does not lock onto the razor body nearly as well. The shaving head pops off when removing the plastic cover, but hasn't done that while shaving.
Performance is average. Razor is louder than others.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shaver!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
TeXi
from New Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
The originals that came with shaver have been great! I order another set, just in-case and was mailed the wrong one (for my old shaver). I mailed them back and I was told today that the correct order will be forthcoming in the next week or so.
As for the screens and cutters (the shaver) as a whole, it has been great! Remington has always have great products!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for a fast shave.

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Edge88
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using this shaver for more than a year. I shave with it at least 5 times a week and have not had any problems with the head popping off. Great shaver for a quick morning shave on the go.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shave

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Justanotherguy
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I have used this product for:more than 1 year
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the Remington F5790 for about six years now. I have used it anywhere from about twice a week for several years to six days a week for the last two years. I have thought a couple of times the cutters should last longer, but I see by my account that they average six months of daily use for me. All things considered I think it is overall a great shaving system, and the best I have had in 40 plus years of shaving. I read a couple of other reviews complaining about the pieces "popping out"...that has vever happened to me. I wonder if they had the correct parts?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SP-390: Screens and Cutters for Remington shavers F5790 & F7790
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hair cup pops off

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Jerry37
from Kankakee,IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I have used this product for:2-6 months
I use this product:Daily
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I liked the shave while it lasted.
Shaver is now useless as hair cup keeps popping off. I am reluctant to order replacement parts since the originals only lasted less than six months. There is no guarantee on these parts.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>